DAMPAK IMPLEMENTASI KEBIJAKAN LOOK EAST DAN ACT EAST INDIA TERHADAP HUBUNGAN INDIA DAN ASEAN

Luluk Fadilah, Anggy Wira Pambudi

Abstract


This study discusses how the impact of the Look East and East Act policies implemented by the Government of India in establishing foreign relations. Specifically, this study will examine the effect caused by the Look East policy and the Act East policy implemented by the Government of India on India-ASEAN relations. This research will use the Balance of Power theory to explain the political factors in Look East and Act East policies. Another theory that will also be used is the concept of regionalism which will be used to explain efforts to expand India's influence into the ASEAN region through the Look East and East Act policies. This research has found that the Look East and East India Act policies have an impact on India and ASEAN relations such as in the fields of economy and trade


Keywords


Look East Policy, Act East Policy

Full Text:

PDF

References


Amrita, Jash. (2014). China in India’s ‘Look East’- Myanmar: Strategic Interests and Security Concerns. International Research Journal of Social Sciences

Danial & Wasriah. (2009). Metode Penulisan Karya Ilmiah. Bandung: Laboratorium Pendidikan Kewarganegaraan UPI.

Domínguez, Gabriel. (2014). From “Look East” to Act East-India Shift Focus

Hans, Morghentau (1973). Politic Among Nations: the Struggle for Power and Peace. New York.

Haokip, Thongkholal. (2011). India’s Look East Policy. International Journal of Ideas, Vol. 24, No. 291.

Jackson, Robert dan Georg Sørensen. (2003). Introduction to International Relations: Theories and Approaches. Second Edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Pant, Harsh V. (2013) China Rises, India Ponders: India’s ‘Look East’ Policy Gathers. Momentum. Australia India Institute

Sikri, Rajiv. (2009). Challenge and Strategy: Rethinking India’s Foreign Policy .Sage Publications India: New Delhi.

Tan, C (2009). Rise of The Asian Giants. Anthem Press

Internet

Daniel Deudney, G.john Ikenberry. (2018). Liberal World Resilient Order. https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/world/2018-06-14/liberal-world

De Prabir. (2018). “Shared Values, Common Destiny: What we expect from the 16th ASEAN-India Summit,”. https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/blogs/et-commentary/shared-values-common-destiny-what-we-expect-from-the-16th-asean-india-summit/

Gurdip Singh. (2018). Third CECA Review Launched. https://www.fiinews.com/third-ceca-review-launched/

Hermanth Singh. (2018). “Act East Policy” of India: Meaning and Objectives. https://www.jagranjosh.com/general-knowledge/meaning-and-objectives-of-the-act-east-policy-of-india-1527251668-1

Jacob Goldberg. (2019). What is India Look East Policy? https://www.thoughtco.com/look-east-policy-of-india-1435050

Kesavan, K. (2020). India’s ‘Act East’ policy and regional cooperation. https://www.orfonline.org/expert-speak/indias-act-east-policy-and-regional-cooperation-61375/

Kundu, S. (2017). ASEAN-India Partnership at 25.https://thediplomat.com/2017/07/asean-india-partnership-at-25/

Nilanjan Banik. (2018). Why Asean Matter to India. https://www.fortuneindia.com/macro/why-asean-matters-to-india/101500

Nilova Roy Chaudhury. (2018). ASEAN at Core of India “Act East” Policy. https://www.indiastrategic.in/2018/01/11/asean-at-core-of-indias-act-east-policy/

Prashanth Prameswaran (2014). Modi Unveils India’s ‘Act East Policy’ to ASEAN in Myanmar. https://thediplomat.com/2014/11/modi-unveils-indias-act-east-policy-to-asean-in-myanmar/

PTI. (2014). India's ties with South East Asia gained momentum in 2014. https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/foreign-trade/indias-ties-with-south-east-asia-gained-momentum-in-2014/articleshow/45615271.cms?from=mdr

Raj Kumar Sharma. (2017). From Look East to Act East -- India balances China in its own backyard. https://asia.nikkei.com/Politics/From-Look-East-to-Act-East-India-balances-China-in-its-own-backyard

Roche, E (2020). India worried as China-Myanmar deepen ties. https://www.livemint.com/news/india/india-worried-as-china-myanmar-deepen-ties-11579492745298.html

Sajjanhar, A. (2018). The India-ASEAN Partnership at 25. https://idsa.in/idsacomments/india-asean-partnership-at-25_asajjanhar_040118

Sengar, N. (2018). What is Act East Policy and how Narendra Modi’s three-nation visit is strengthening it. https://www.financialexpress.com/india-news/what-is-act-east-policy-and-how-narendra-modis-three-nation-visit-is-strengthening-it/1187081/

Sheany. (2017). Asean Needs to Improve Trade, Security Cooperation With India: Jokowi. https://jakartaglobe.id/news/asean-needs-improve-trade-security-cooperation-india-jokowi/

Sridhar Ramaswamy, Tridivesh Singh Maini. (2014). The Strategic Importance of Myanmar for India. https://thediplomat.com/2014/08/the-strategic-importance-of-myanmar-for-india/




DOI: https://doi.org/10.52447/polinter.v6i1.4143

Refbacks

  • There are currently no refbacks.


Email : jurnalpolinter@gmail.com

Lt. 5, Universitas 17 Agustus 1945 Jakarta,Jl. Sunter Permai Raya, Sunter Agung Podomoro, Jakarta 14350

Creative Commons License
Journal Polinter is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Copyright Pusat Penelitian Fakultas Ilmu Sosial dan Ilmu Politik Universitas 17 Agustus 1945 Jakarta

View My Statcounter